All you need to know to living Gluten-Free

What is Gluten?

Gluten is the generic name for the certain types of proteins found in common creral grains-mainly wheat, barley, rye, spelt, and Kamut (versions of wheat).

 

Whom it Affects

Gluten Intolerance. Current estimates sugges that 1 in every 100 people worldwide has celiac disease. Two and a half million Americans are undiagnosed and are at risk for long-term health complications.

Living Gluten-Free

You do not have to give up all foods to live gluten-free: Dietitians recommend that patients eat a variety of good thing people should eat anyway, such a fresh meats, fruits, vegetables, diary, eggs, nuts, and legumes. All are naturally gluten-free.

You must become more vigilant about you diet, especially when it comes to:

  • Eliminating foods that contains gluten-wheat, rye, barley, spelt, and Kamut.

cereales-art1

 

  • Discovering that wheat-free does not mean gluten-free;a product may have some other gluten-containing grain.

0VXG5AW4KX

 

  • Reading labels of all foods, including bakery and packaged foods, carefully.

 

food_labels_fd004893-300x169

 

  • Knowing that gluten-containing grains are used as both basic ingredients and additives during processing or prepartions.

506VE8GWD7

 

  • Being aware that ingredients may need to be clarified by the manufacturer. Example: Hydrolyzed vegetable protein on an ingredient list may be made from wheat, soy, corn, or a mix of grains.

 

FoodLabel-640x440

Comments




Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*